Meet the Team

“Fáilte and welcome to the Website of the Irish in New Zealand”.

In 1976 a Consulate was first established in Auckland to represent the Government of Ireland, reporting directly to the Embassy of Ireland in Canberra. At that time there was also an Honorary Consul in Wellington, responsible for the remainder of the country. In 1986 the responsibilities of the Auckland based Consulate were extended to all of New Zealand and the Wellington post was closed. While the range of services provided by the Consulate has grown extensively over the years, it is still an Honorary post.

The Consulate maintains strong links with the various Irish Societies, organisations and communities scattered throughout the country. As a result of this strong Irish presence in New Zealand (18% of the population are of Irish descent) and thus helped by the great affinity which exists between New Zealand and Ireland, the Consulate has in many ways become the catalyst for the provision of information on Ireland. Enjoy your browsing and please do contact us should you find that some of our information is lacking or that we can improve the manner in which it is presented.

Beatha agus sláinte.

Niamh McMahon


Honorary Consul General

Did you know...

The North Island, South Island and Stewart Island were originally named New Ulster, New Munster and New Leinster respectively

Sir Tristram, born in Co Kildare, was a champion broodmare sire (45 group one winners, including 3 Melbourne Cup winners) and lived in Cambridge Stud

Mary Gallagher, of whom the song ‘Mary from Dungloe’ was written, emigrated to NZ from Co Donegal and is buried in Gisborne cemetery

Robert Hannah, born in Co Antrim, founded ‘Hannah’s Shoes’. He built and lived in Antrim House, in Wellington, now the headquarters of the NZ Historic Places Trust

Thomas Bracken, born in Co Monaghan, wrote the words of the national anthem ‘God Defend New Zealand’

Johnny Martin, born in Co Derry, was a goldminer and entrepreneur who developed the area of Martinborough

Joseph McMullen Dargaville, born in Co Cork, developed the town of Dargaville as part of his kauri timber and gum business

Robert Wellwood, born in Co Kilkenny, was the first Mayor of Hastings

Thomas Russell, born in Cork, was the founder of Bank of New Zealand in 1861

Thomas Croke, born in Cork and after whom the GAA Croke Park is named, was Roman Catholic Bishop of Auckland from 1870-1874

Patrick Moran, born in Co Wicklow, was the Roman Catholic Bishop of Dunedin 1869-1895

Henry Blundell, born in Dublin, began publishing the Wellington Evening Post (now the Dominion Post) in 1865

Dave Gallaher, captain of the 1905 Original All Blacks, was born in Co Donegal

Three of NZs Prime Ministers were born in Ireland – Daniel Pollen (Dublin), John Balance (Antrim) and William Massey (Derry)

New Zealand’s most colourful goldminer, Biddy of the Buller, was born in Dublin

Lt. Governor William Hobson, who signed the Treaty of Waitangi on behalf of the Crown, was born in Waterford, the home of Waterford Crystal.

The Duke of Wellington, after whom New Zealand’s capital city is named, was born in Dublin, Ireland’s capital.

James Joyce, the author of Ulysses, the novel of the 20th century, had a sister, who was a nun who lived in New Zealand for many years until her death in 1942.